New Mexico DWI – Under 21 Defense Attorney
Getting arrested for DWI when you are under 21 years old can be scary and stressful. The sooner you speak with an experienced New Mexico DWI attorney, the better your chances are of receiving a favorable outcome for your case. The New Mexico Legal Group is a criminal defense law firm that has handled thousands of cases on behalf of people arrested for DWI in New Mexico. We have developed a great reputation based on our ability to get charges dropped or reduced for our clients.
New Mexico DWI Laws for Drivers under 21
Driving while intoxicated with liquor or drugs is illegal. Drivers under 21 years old with a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher are classified as legally drunk in the state of New Mexico. Once a person under 21 years old exceeds the legal blood alcohol limit, it is assumed the person is not able to drive the vehicle safely and poses a danger to others on the road.
Penalties for DWI under 21 in New Mexico
New Mexico takes drunk driving cases very seriously. A person under 21 years old who is convicted of DWI may face constant supervision by state law enforcement authorities, license suspension and fines. Some of the penalties for a DWI include:
- Treatment in rehabilitation program
- Community service
- Alcohol screening
- Driver’s license revoked
- Ignition interlock system installed on the vehicle once driving privileges are reinstated
- Detention for up to 15 days in detention facility if under 18 years old
- Jail time up to 90 days and $500 fine for first time offenders at least 18 years old
- Probation terms based on discretion of the court
New Mexico DWI Criminal Defense Attorneys
New Mexico residents under 21 years old often face penalties that can last a long time when they don’t have excellent criminal defense attorneys working for them. We aggressively defend our clients and know how to navigate the criminal justice system in a manner that best benefits our clients’ interests. If you are in need of an attorney, we will use our 30 years of experience successfully defending DWI cases to help you.
Contact an Experienced New Mexico DWI Attorney
Call us at (505) 843-7303 to speak with a New Mexico DWI defense attorney. Alternatively, fill out the online case evaluation form on the website by providing your name, contact information, and list the charges you are dealing with. A free initial consultation can be scheduled in offices conveniently located in Albuquerque or Rio Rancho, New Mexico.